University Libraries Announces 2019 Open Textbook Initiative Recipients

News item published on: 2020-02-07 07:50:00

University Libraries, in partnership with the Office of the Provost, is announcing the faculty members selected for the 2019 Open Textbook Initiative. The Open Textbook Initiative is a program to support faculty in replacing traditional commercial textbooks with academically equivalent alternatives that are available at no cost to students. The completed open textbooks will be implemented in the classroom beginning in the Fall 2020 semester.

The following faculty have been selected to develop open educational resources for the following courses:

• Dr. Danny Beard, School of Music: MUS 120
• Dr. Sam Bruton, School of Humanities: PHI 171
• Dr. Jennifer Courts, School of Performing and Visual Arts: ART 332/334
• Dr. Damon Franke, School of Humanities: ENG 203
• Dr. Pamela Rollins, School of Child and Family Sciences: FAM 602
• Dr. Jeremy Scott, School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences: PHY 361/362
• Dr. Susannah Ural, School of Humanities: HIS 463 and HIS 400

Recipients were chosen after completing applications for the program during the Fall 2019 semester.

More information about the Open Textbook Initiative is available here.