University Librarians Elected to Statewide Office

News item published on: 2015-01-30 16:06:41

January 2015

University Librarians Michele Frasier-Robinson and Elena Azadbakht have been elected to statewide office with the Association of College and Research Libraries, Mississippi Chapter of the Mississippi Library Association (MLA-ACRL).

Frasier-Robinson, who is the reference librarian for education and psychology and assistant professor, was elected to a two-year term as vice chair/chair-elect. In 2016, she will take over the position of chair and also serve on the board for the Mississippi Library Association. “I’m excited to serve as an officer in this organization dedicated to the advancement of academic librarianship, and I look forward to representing Southern Miss at the state level,” said Frasier-Robinson.

Azadbakht, reference librarian for health sciences and assistant professor, was elected to a one-year term as secretary/treasurer for 2015. In this role, she is responsible for keeping a record of each section and executive council meeting and maintaining the section’s financial records. She will also regularly update the section’s wiki. “I am really excited to be a part of MLA-ACRL this year and am looking forward to working James Kennedy (2015 chair) and chair-elect Michele Frasier-Robinson,” said Azadbakht.

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) section of the Mississippi Library Association (MLA) fosters the profession of academic and research librarianship and enhances the ability of academic research libraries to serve effectively the library and information needs of current and potential library users.

MLA aims to provide professional leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all. MLA was organized October 29, 1909, by Whitman Davis, a librarian at Mississippi A & M College. On January 13, 1968, the Association became a corporation with its official name being Mississippi Library Association, Inc.