Peggy May Scholarship

News item published on: 2021-05-14 09:56:51

The Peggy May Scholarship, awarded by the Mississippi Library Association, is designed to provide financial assistance for the education of individuals planning to be professional librarians, information specialists, or media specialists in academic, public, school or special libraries. The scholarship award of $1000 is given to a qualified graduate student currently enrolled or officially admitted in the School of Library and Information Science (SLIS) at The University of Southern Mississippi (USM).

Criteria for the scholarship include academic excellence, leadership capabilities, and an evidence of commitment to a career in the field of library and information science in the state of Mississippi. Previous experience or activity in the library field is a bonus but not necessary to be considered for the award.

Scholarship qualifications:
- An excellent student
- Committed to a career in a Mississippi library
- Currently enrolled (or officially accepted) in the USM SLIS program
- Full-time or part-time graduate student

For more information, or to apply, visit the MLA Peggy May Scholarship site.

Peggy May devoted her time and energy to the advancement of libraries in the state of Mississippi. Until her tragic and untimely death in 1974, she traveled the State extensively to support the efforts of library colleagues in small and large libraries to develop library services for Mississippi citizens. Peggy May loved all aspects of librarianship; she particularly enjoyed encouraging new librarians in their academic and career pursuits. The Peggy May Scholarship endowment was established after her death to honor her dedication to librarianship and support her commitment to recruit talented individuals to the profession.