2021 Open Textbook Initiative Recipients

News item published on: 2022-01-24 09:28:00

University Libraries, in partnership with the Office of the Provost, is announcing the recipients of the 2021 Open Textbook Initiative. The Open Textbook Initiative is a program to support faculty in replacing traditional commercial textbooks with academically equivalent alternatives that are available at no cost to students. The completed open textbooks will be implemented in the classroom beginning in the Fall 2022 semester. The following faculty have been selected to develop open educational resources for the listed courses:

• Dr. Christopher Hayes, School of Ocean Science and Engineering: MAR 418 and MAR 419
• Dr. Chris Sirola, School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences: PHY 111/112/201/202
• Dr. Nancy Speed, School of Kinesiology and Nutrition: KIN 463

Recipients were chosen after completing applications for the program during the Fall 2021 semester. More information about the Open Textbook Initiative is available on the Office of the Provost's web site.