University Libraries Announces 2020 Open Textbook Initiative Recipients

News item published on: 2020-12-04 13:12:00

University Libraries, in partnership with the Office of the Provost, is announcing the recipients of the 2020 Open Textbook Initiative. The Open Textbook Initiative is a program to support faculty in replacing traditional commercial textbooks with academically equivalent alternatives that are available at no cost to students. The completed open textbooks will be implemented in the classroom beginning in the Fall 2021 semester. The following faculty have been selected to develop open educational resources for the listed courses:

• Ms. Emily Bes, School of Health Professions: DPH 430
• Dr. Matthew Casey, School of Humanities: HIS 310
• Dr. Elif Filiz, School of Social Science and Global Studies: ECO 450
• Dr. Christopher Foley, School of Humanities: ENG 350

Recipients were chosen after completing applications for the program during the Fall 2020 semester. More information about the Open Textbook Initiative is available on the Office of the Provost's web site.